Our Team and Leaders


The Chicago Jazz Orchestra is a mix of music, education, passion, and yes…business. Here are the CJO leaders, those selfless citizens who give of themselves to create and share a bigger force of nature: jazz. 


Our Legacy and Future

Over 40 Years For a Reason

Any business or organization that survives, much less thrives, for over 40 years is special. This is undeniable, especially today.

The CJO began with two guys and an idea. What started out as a North Side rehearsal band has grown into one of the premier professional jazz orchestras in the world. From The Kennedy Center to the Green Mill Cocktail Lounge, the CJO has been swinging with dignitaries and common folk alike.

Directors and Staff

The Chicago Jazz Orchestra Association Board of Directors and staff are composed of people from all walks of life––all tied together by their love of jazz and swing.

Board of Directors

  • Chris Lega, Board Chair
  • Jeff Lindberg, Artistic Director and Co-Founder
  • Jerry DiMuzio, Vice Chair
  • Michelle Lewis, Secretary and Public Relations
  • Ryan Adamsons
  • Gregory L. Calloway
  • Joseph B. Glossberg
  • Susan Harshey
  • Ross Kooperman
  • Rahsaan Clark Morris
  • Ray Rusnak
  • Arthur P. Wheatley

Honorary Directors

  • Benny Golson
  • Slide Hampton
  • Harold Jones
  • Ramsey Lewis
  • Jimmy Heath, in memoriam
  • Clark Terry, in memoriam


  • Ahmed Benbayla, Associate Artistic Administrator
  • Ellen Cohen, Accountant
  • Chris Frerichs, Grant Writer
  • Joe Quartana, Marketing and Communications